Reece’s Pieces Cupcakes

photo

I have to be honest, I was a bit over cupcakes.

Like calling things ‘shabby chic’ or behaving like you’re the first person to ever like cats, cupcakes had, in my opinion at least, got a bit twee and overdone. And as a general rule, if a thing becomes a common name for second-rate burlesque dancers, stop eating that thing.

They’re big, obnoxious, gaudy things. The Rihanna of cakes, if you will. Give me a nice slice of drizzle cake over that any day. Or so I thought…

Ever since my sister returned from her honeymoon in New York earlier this year with chocolatey gifts, I’ve been slightly obsessed with Reece’s peanut butter cups and I really wanted to try cooking with them. I’d seen a few cheesecake recipes that replicate the Reece’s flavours, but when I saw a photo on Twitter of some cupcakes using the actual chocolates, I thought they would be worth trying to reignite my cupcake love!

I found this recipe online at www.mission-food.com and I can honestly say that they are some of the easiest but most effective cakes I’ve ever baked. The sponge isn’t too sweet and is lovely and chocolatey. Highly recommended.

Reece’s Pieces Cupcakes (makes 12)

  • 90g plain flour
  • 30g plain cholcolate cocoa (I used Bournville)
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • Large pinch of salt
  • 55g butter or margerine
  • 90g caster sugar
  • 1egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 12 Reece’s peanut butter cups

photo-2

Method

  1. Heat the oven to 180 degrees and line a muffin tin with 12 muffin cases
  2. Sift together all the dry ingredients except the sugar
  3. By hand or with a mixer, beat together the sugar and butter until smooth, then add the egg
  4. Fold in half the dry ingredients to the butter mixture. Add the milk, then stir in the remaining flour mix. Stir until smooth
  5. Add a spoon of the batter to each muffin case (WRAPPERS OFF!), then place a peanut butter cup on top. Spoon the remaining batter into the cases. Watch out with this bit, I put way too much batter underneath the peanut butter (I got my spoons confused!) and then had to kind of push them in to cover them. This batter makes 12 cupcakes precisely, no room for error!
  6. Pop in the oven and bake for about 20 minutes, until they spring back when touched. Leave to cool completely

When the cakes are cooled, you can ice them.

The recipe I used also had how to make the frosting, but I hate making frosting. It might be lack of fancy equipment (I make everything with an ancient Tesco value hand mixer) but I’ve never made successful frosting; it’s always either to hard and buttery or mix it 2 seconds too long and it turns to rank liquid. The recipes are always for waaay too much too, which I always feel too guilty to chuck out.

photo(8)

So for these cakes I decided to buy Betty Crocker vanilla frosting and stir in some powdered peanut butter I’d bought for another (less successful) recipe. This plan actually worked really well, as it gave the cupcakes a sweet topping, which is nice against the dark chocolate sponge and salty peanut layer.

As you can see from the photos, I’m not the best at frosting but I gave it my best shot! I decorated with some Reece’s Pieces, which I hated and would recommend using peanut butter M&M’s instead.

A few points:

  • With the frosting, decorations and peanut butter cups, these are not particulary cheap cakes
  • These cakes work out to about 275 calories each. Worth it!

And there you go- Reece’s Pieces Cupcakes! My love of cupcakes is restored!

photo(6) photo(7) photo(9)

Leave a Reply

